Social Media

Follow us on Twitter

 

Like us on Facebook

 

Connect with us on LinkedIn

PDF Print
Contest Winners

Announcing

The Antigonish Review’s

Contests Winners

- 2012 - 2013 - 2014 -

2014

The Antigonish Review’s
14th Great Blue Heron Poetry Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Harold Hoefle,
St-Anne-de-Bellevue, QC

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Michael Prior,
Toronto, ON

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Joanna Lilley,
Whitehorse, YT


The Antigonish Review’s

10th Sheldon Currie Fiction Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Jen Julian,
Columbia, MO

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

John O'Neill,
Toronto, ON

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Ryan Frawley
Edmonton, AB

This year, there were a combined total of 151 entries. The writer's names were masked so the judges could not identify the authors. We expect the winning manuscripts will be published in issue 179 (Autumn 2014) of The Antigonish Review. Our judges were - Poetry: Patricia Young and Peter Sanger; Fiction: Joan Baril, Reynold Stone, Gwen Davies and Heather Debling - with the final judge being Sheree Fitch. 

We'd like congratulate all of our winners and thank everyone who entered!

 

2013

The Antigonish Review’s
13th Great Blue Heron Poetry Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Patricia Young,
Victoria, BC

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

B.L. Gentry,
Pryor, OK

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Sean Howard,
Main-a-Dieu, NS


The Antigonish Review’s
9th Sheldon Currie Fiction Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Gwen Davies,
Halifax, NS

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Heather Debling,
Stratford, ON

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Joan Baril,
Thunder Bay, ON

This year, there were a combined total of 235 entries. The writer's names were masked so the judges could not identify the authors. We expect the winning manuscripts will be published in issue 175 (Autumn 2013) of The Antigonish Review. Our judges were - Poetry: Jan Conn and Peter Sanger; Fiction: Anne Simpson, Gerald Trites, Reynold Stone, and Andy Stubbs - with the final judge being Michelle Berry. 

We'd like to send out a hearty Congratulations to all of our winners!

 

2012

The Antigonish Review’s
12th Great Blue Heron Poetry Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Charles P.R. Tisdale,
Reidsville, NC

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Kim Trainor,
Vancouver, BC

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Laura Legge,
Toronto, ON


The Antigonish Review’s
8th Sheldon Currie Fiction Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Judy LeBlanc,
Fanny Bay, BC

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Fred Annesley,
Toronto, ON

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Joan Baril,
Thunder Bay, ON

The decisions for these contests were difficult to make. There were a combined total of 316 contestants this year. The writer's names were masked so the judges could not identify the authors. We expect the winning manuscripts will be published in issue 172 (Winter 2013) of The Antigonish Review. Our judges were - Poetry: Jan Conn and Peter Sanger; Fiction: Gerald Trites, Reynold Stone, Andy Stubbs, Leo Furey and Veronica Ross.

We'd like to send out a hearty Congratulations to all of our winners!

 

2011

The Antigonish Review’s
11th Great Blue Heron Poetry Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Patricia Young,
Victoria, BC

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Terry Ann carter,
Ottawa, ON

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Peter Richardson,
Gatineau, QC


The Antigonish Review’s
7th Sheldon Currie Fiction Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Mary di Michele,
Montreal, QC

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Elena Vardon,
Toronto, ON

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Andrea J. Turner,
Orinda, CA

The decisions for these contests were difficult to make. There were a combined total of 339 contestants this year. The writer's names were masked so the judges could not identify the authors. We expect the winning manuscripts will be published in issue 167 (Autumn 2011) of The Antigonish Review. Our judges were - Poetry: Jennifer Houle and Peter Sanger; Fiction: Richard Cumyn, Gerald Trites, Marianne Paul, Darryl Whetter, Cory Rushton and Reynold Stone.

 

2010

The Antigonish Review’s
10th Great Blue Heron Poetry Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Moez Surani,
Thornhill, ON

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Margaret Slavin Dyment,
Peterborough, ON

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Patricia Young,
Victoria, BC


The Antigonish Review’s
6th Sheldon Currie Fiction Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Amber Hayward,
Hinton, AB

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Ben Hart,
Vancouver, BC

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Peter S. Lee,
Yarmouth, ME

The decisions for these contests were difficult to make. There were a combined total of 341 contestants this year. The writer's names were masked so the judges could not identify the authors. We expect the winning manuscripts will be published in issue 163 (Autumn 2010) of The Antigonish Review.

Prizes: $600 first prize & publication
$400 second prize & publication
$200 third prize & publication

2009

The Antigonish Review’s
9th Great Blue Heron Poetry Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Jennifer Houle,
Fredericton, NB

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Eve Joseph,
Brentwood Bay, BC

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Eleonore Schönmaier,
Ketch Harbour, NS


The Antigonish Review’s
5th Sheldon Currie Fiction Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Sheila McClarty,
Dugald, MB

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Laura Rock,
Lakefield, ON

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Ian Bullock,
Vancouver, BC

The decisions for these contests were difficult to make. There were a combined total of 373 contestants this year. The writer's names were masked so the judges could not identify the authors. We expect the winning manuscripts will be published in issue #159 (Autumn 2009) of The Antigonish Review.

Prizes: $600 first prize & publication
$400 second prize & publication
$200 third prize & publication

2008

The Antigonish Review’s
8th Great Blue Heron Poetry Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Anita Lahey,
Montreal, QC

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Christine Wiesenthal,
Edmonton, AB

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

K.V. Skene,
Oxford, UK


The Antigonish Review’s
4th Sheldon Currie Fiction Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Andrea Marcusa,
New York, NY

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Beverly Akerman,
Montreal, QC

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Andrea Cameron,
Brockville, ON

The decisions for these contests were difficult to make. There were a combined total of 323 contestants this year. The writer’s names were masked so the judges could not identify the authors. We expect the winning manuscripts will be published in issue #155 (Autumn 2008) of The Antigonish Review.

Prizes: $600 first prize & publication
$400 second prize & publication
$200 third prize & publication

2007

The Antigonish Review’s
7th Great Blue Heron Poetry Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Daryl Sneath,
Port Perry, ON

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Eve Joseph,
Brentwood Bay, BC

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Heidi Garnett,
Kelowna, BC


The Antigonish Review’s
3rd Sheldon Currie Fiction Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Shellie Troy Anderson
Vancouver, BC

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Bob Bossin,
Gabriola, BC

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Trudy J. Morgan-Cole,
St. John's, NL

The decisions for these contests were difficult to make. There were a combined total of 403 contestants this year. The writer’s names were masked so the judges could not identify the authors. We expect the winning manuscripts will be published in issue #151 (Autumn 2007) of The Antigonish Review.

Prizes: $600 first prize & publication
$400 second prize & publication
$200 third prize & publication

2006

The Antigonish Review’s
6th Great Blue Heron Poetry Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Ron Stewart,
Komoka, Ontario

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Gillian Savigny,
Montreal, Quebec

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Katherine A. Case,
Berkeley, California


The Antigonish Review’s
2nd Sheldon Currie Fiction Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Alix Bemrose,
Toronto, Ontario

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Mark Rogers,
Toronto, Ontario

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Margret Bollerup,
Maple Ridge, British Columbia

The decisions were difficult to make. There were a combined total of 395 contestants this year. The writers' names were masked so the judges could not identify the authors. We expect the winning manuscripts to be published in issue #147 (Autumn 2006) of The Antigonish Review.

Prizes: $600 first prize & publication
$400 second prize & publication
$200 third prize & publication

2005

The Antigonish Review’s
5th Great Blue Heron Poetry Contests

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Linda L. Dove,
Skull Valley, Arizona

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Nikolijne Troubetzkoy,
Toronto, Ontario

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Sachiko Murakami,
Montreal, Quebec

HONOURABLE MENTION

Shannon Stewart,
West Vancouver, British Columbia


The Antigonish Review’s
1st Sheldon Currie Fiction Contest

FIRST PRIZE

($600.00)

Nicholas Ruddock,
Guelph, Ontario

SECOND PRIZE

($400.00)

Eleonore Schönmaier,
Ketch Harbour, Nova Scotia

THIRD PRIZE

($200.00)

Leslie Vryenhoek,
Winnipeg, Manitoba

The decisions were difficult to make. There were a combined total of 470 contestants this year. The writers' names were masked so the judges could not identify the authors. We expect the winning manuscripts to be published in issue #143 (Autumn 2005) of The Antigonish Review.

Prizes: $600 first prize & publication
$400 second prize & publication
$200 third prize & publication
Honourable Mention - publication

2004

Press Release...

FIRST PRIZE

($800.00)

Anita Lahey,
Ottawa, Ontario

SECOND PRIZE

($500.00)

David Hickey,
Fredericton, New Brunswick

THIRD PRIZE

($300.00)

Kate Hall,
Montreal, Quebec

The decisions were difficult to make. There were nearly 350 contestants. The poets' names were masked so the judges could not identify the authors. We expect the winning poems to be published in issue #139 (Autumn 2004) of The Antigonish Review.

Prizes: $800 first prize & publication
$500 second prize & publication
$300 third prize & publication

2003

Press Release...

FIRST PRIZE

($800.00)

Stephanie Bolster,
Pointe Claire, Quebec

SECOND PRIZE

($500.00)

Catherine Greenwood,
Victoria, BC

THIRD PRIZE

($300.00)

Michael Trussler,
Regina, Saskatchewan

The decisions were difficult to make. There were nearly 400 contestants. The poets' names were masked so the judges could not identify the authors. We expect to publish the winning poetry in issue #135 (Autumn, 2003).

Prizes: $800 first prize & publication
$500 second prize & publication
$300 third prize & publication

2002

FIRST PRIZE

($800.00)

Mitchell Parry,
Victoria, British Columbia

SECOND PRIZE

($500.00)

Lori Maleea Acker,
Hines Creek, Alberta

THIRD PRIZE (A Tie)

($150.00)
($150.00)

Brad Buie, Victoria, British Columbia
Nicholas Ruddock, Guelph, Ontario

HONORABLE MENTION:

Rebecca Campbell,
Cobble Hill, British Columbia

The decisions were difficult to make. There were nearly 400 contestants. The poets' names were masked so the judges could not identify the authors. The winning poems have been published in issue #131 (Autumn, 2002).

Prizes: $800 first prize & publication
$500 second prize & publication
$300 third prize & publication

2001

FIRST PRIZE ($500.00) Karin Cope,
Port Dufferin, Nova Scotia
SECOND PRIZE ($300.00) Anna King,
Surrey, British Columbia
THIRD PRIZE ($200.00) Heather Cadsby,
Etobicoke, Ontario
HONORABLE MENTION: Mitchell Parry, Victoria, British Columbia
Clea Young, Victoria, British Columbia

The decisions were not easy. There were nearly 150 contestants who sent, on average, five or six poems. The poets' names were masked so the judges could not identify the authors.

The text of the first, second and third prize-winning poems have been published inour issue #127.


For full contest details, guidelines and queries, contact:
Phone (902) 867-3962 or This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

 

We acknowledge the support of the Canada Council for the Arts which last year invested $19.1 million in writing and publishing throughout Canada.


OUR CONGRATULATIONS TO THE WINNERS
AND OUR SINCERE THANKS TO ALL WHO CONTRIBUTED TO THE CONTEST.